Brief Biography of Professor Christodoulos A. Floudas



Professor Christodoulos A. Floudas
Director, Texas A&M Energy Institute
Erle Nye '59 Chair Professor for Engineering Excellence

Texas A&M Energy Institute 302D Williams Administration Bldg. 3372 Texas A&M University College Station, TX 77843

Tel.: 979-458-0253

Email: floudas@tamu.edu

Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering Jack E. Brown Bldg. 3122 Texas A&M University College Station, TX 77843-3122

Dr. Floudas is the Director of the Texas A&M Energy Institute, and the Erle Nye '59 Chair Professor for Engineering Excellence at the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University. Dr. Floudas served Princeton University for 29 years and is the Stephen C. Macaleer '63 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science, Emeritus, and Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Emeritus at Princeton University.

Professor Floudas is a world-renowned authority in mathematical modeling and optimization of complex systems. His research interests lie at the interface of chemical engineering, applied mathematics, and operations research, with principal areas of focus including multi-scale systems engineering for energy and the environment, chemical process synthesis and design, process operations, discrete-continuous nonlinear optimization, local and global optimization, and computational chemistry and molecular biology.

Professor Floudas is the author of two graduate textbooks, Nonlinear Mixed-Integer Optimization (Oxford University Press, 1995), and Deterministic Global Optimization (Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2000). He has co-edited ten monographs/books, has over 300 refereed publications, delivered over 330 invited lectures, seminars, and named lectureships. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors for teaching and research that include the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1988; the Engineering Council Teaching Award, Princeton University, 1995; the Bodossaki Foundation Award in Applied Sciences, 1997; the Best Paper Award in Computers and Chemical Engineering, 1998; the Aspen Tech Excellence in Teaching Award, 1999; the 2001 AIChE Professional Progress Award for Outstanding Progress in Chemical Engineering; the 2006 AIChE Computing in Chemical Engineering Award; the 2007 Graduate Mentoring Award, Princeton University; Member of National Academy of Engineering, 2011; One thousand Global Experts, China 2012-2015; SIAM Fellow, 2013; TIAS Fellow and Eminent Scholar, 2013-14; AIChE Fellow, 2013; National Award and HELORS Gold Medal, 2013; Honorary Doctorate, Abo Akademi University, Finland, 2014; Thompson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher, 2014 (for 2002-2012, 11 years); Member of TAMEST (The Academy of Medicine, Engineering, and Sciences of Texas), 2015; Corresponding Member of the Academy of Athens, 2015.